

Between the 11th and 12th centuries, the Trophy of Augustus, stripped of its magnificence and ruined, was transformed into a fortress. With the first houses of the village, the fortified ensemble called Castro Torbia, will become a stronghold on the borders of Provence. In the centuries that followed, the town, historically attached to the County of Nice, depended in turn on Provence, the Duchy of Savoy (1388-1792), France (1792-1814), the Kingdom of Piemont - Sardinia (1814-1860), to become definitively French in 1860.
Two gates surmounted by machicolations, situated to the east and west, were connected by the Rue Droite. They protected the entrance to the fortified village, leaning against the surrounding wall. The West Portal opens on the current rue Comte de Cessole, named after the Nice magistrate who, in 1843, published a famous work on the Trophy and the Roman road Julia Augusta.
Two gates surmounted by machicolations, situated to the east and west, were connected by the Rue Droite. They protected the entrance to the fortified village, leaning against the surrounding wall. The West Portal opens on the current rue Comte de Cessole, named after the Nice magistrate who, in 1843, published a famous work on the Trophy and the Roman road Julia Augusta.
Öffnungszeiten
Öffnungszeiten
Das ganze Jahr über 2025 - Geöffnet jeden tag
Lokalisierung
Lokalisierung
Gesprochene Sprachen
Gesprochene Sprachen
Umwelt
Umwelt
- In Autobahnnähe
- In der Stadt
- In Nähe einer Bushaltestelle
- Dorfzentrum
- Fußgängerzone
- In Nähe eines großen Wanderwegs (G.R.)
- Bushaltestelle in weniger als 500 m
- Im historischen Zentrum